The First 2 Days...

The First 2 Days...

Hello hello! I am Joseph "Joe" Barnes and I am working on a year long project that I have titled Project: ichi. There's more information about why I've started my journey here.

Project: ichi

So far the first week is looking rough. I sorta sabotaged myself by not planning ahead of time for this to start smoothly, but I just felt a spark, and decided to jump the gun and began to code. The first site (and day) turned out alright, improvements can be made, but for what I aim to accomplish, that's a secondary matter. I mainly used my memory and a little bit of googling to put the first site together and have it be where people go to look at the rest of the project.

Yu-Gi-Random!

The second day was hell... I wanted to make a good early site, so I decided to challenge myself and utilize JavaScript in my webpage for the first time. What I didn't realize at the time, this was going to be a doozy. The styling wasn't hard for me, though I felt like I did so sorta lazily? What took me almost 24 hours to figure out... was the JavaScript. I utilized AJAX and the Yu-Gi-Oh! API to get the data presented on the site. I had more grand Ideas, but by the time I figured out how to get everything from the animations to getting the data for the images, I felt bad about pretty much being late after only one day.

Dang... this is a whole lot of negativity right now huh?

Well, despite these first two days, I have actually felt good about starting this project and hopefully can get things more streamlined by the start of week 2. I tend to be a bit hard on myself, but it's something I also appreciate and it will be my biggest asset in completing all 365 days.

I just got home when I started typing this, will start brainstorming and completing day three once posted. I promise you these will be a bit less long (unless people like reading for a while /shrug).

Areas to Improve:

  • HTML/CSS optimal practices + have at least decent animations
  • JavaScript (everything pretty much)